Now Reading
Epic Games | "Digital Fashion is the Fast Fashion of the Future".

Epic Games | "Digital Fashion is the Fast Fashion of the Future".

Epic Games | style in progress

Sallyann Houghton follows the collaboration of gaming platforms with the fashion industry live and from the front row. As the contact person for entertainment, media and fashion at Epic Games, she experienced how the topic became mega-hype during the pandemic. With Fortnite, Epic Games set new standards. It is above all the technical know-how that Epic Games holds as a digital asset and from which many industries can benefit.

Interview: Stephan Huber. Text: Isabel Faiss. Photos: Epic Games

Let's start with a kick-start: How would you explain Epic Games in a few sentences?

The keyword Game is in the company name, but there are actually two sides to Epic. One is about games, the other is not - and all the lines are blurring right now. Unreal Engine is our softwear that enables everything we do at Epic. Fortnite has raised our profile tremendously in and outside of the traditional gaming community. Our technologies are the foundation for many industries we now work with. We invest heavily in Unreal tools and new content to support developers in architecture, media, entertainment, automotive, marketing and simulation. We want to showcase fantastic examples of how developers in these industries can use real-time technology and help them understand how our gaming technology can be used in virtual ecosystems and where best to start.

The pandemic forced the fashion industry to take its digital offering to a new level of technology and market maturity. What has changed as a result?

The industry is embracing new technologies like never before. More upheaval has happened in the last 24 months than in the last 100 years. It's like a gigantic awakening. In my opinion, fashion is now increasingly drawn to virtual spaces because the appropriate offerings are finally there, at the appropriate aesthetic level.

Everywhere you look, fashion is discovering the gaming industry. But isn't it also the other way around? Who benefits more from whom?

Fashion is just the expression of one's own identity and creativity. Gamers have always used this for themselves, even without the influence of the fashion industry. For many years, it has been extremely en vogue to create your own characters and appearances. It is a very powerful tool for gamers to create their own identity and play it out in their community. The fashion industry is opening up a wider field of possibilities for all of us here. The time is ripe for gaming and fashion to finally come together because gaming platforms have become much broader and appeal to a huge number of people. Gamers today are no longer teenagers playing games in their bedrooms. Everyone is a gamer. The average age is 33 to 38 and there are billions of them out there.

I recently saw a denim jacket with two names on it: Fortnite and Balenciaga. Fortnite was clearly printed more prominently. A symbol of the current balance of power?

Gaming was traditionally unknown territory for fashion. No one recognised the strategic benefits. That has changed in the meantime. Today, gaming is more than just playing games - it is about the shared experience with friends. The fashion industry is now well aware of the importance of virtual platforms and they, in turn, have become much more mature. The deep understanding of data will enable fashion to know much more about their product - before they have even produced it.

In recent years, fashion has found itself in a crisis of meaning. It was all about numbers and efficiency - no longer about fun. Can the liaison with the gaming industry bring back the fun?

Let's face it: most of us hate shopping. We love to find and grab things. Shopping is just the annoying way to get to the destination - and those are the treasures you want in the end. This is where I think retailers lose the most customers. If you remove all the obstacles like crowds, travel, cold and unwillingness, and offer shopping as an experience in an environment that excites everyone and where people are completely free to try on different outfits and be creative, then the fun comes back. In real life, we act in a much more controlled way. We decide strategically what to buy. In virtual worlds and especially in the metaverse, we have limitless possibilities. At any time, you can completely change your style and freely transform every element of your personality. Digital fashion is the fast fashion of the future.


In the virtual world, physical borders no longer exist - keyword diversity. Can we finally break away from clichés here?

The metaverse enables unconditional self-expression. One can be anything or anyone at any time. It allows us to push physical categories aside. The current discussion is mainly about how the fashion industry can use digital possibilities today. But the exciting thing about the situation is that in the metaverse we can revolutionise the system of fashion, for example, to create labels that will never exist in the real world. You can act in a completely new way - you can discard regularities about materials, shapes and cuts.

Metaverse is a gamechanger for fashion. But virtual fashion is also fashion - just on a different level. Because at the end of the day, one fact remains: customers have to love your product. How do you inspire Gen Z in the Metaverse?

Basically, Gen Z has much fewer concerns about the switch to the digital world than we do. For them, this duality of real and virtual has always existed. It is the technology that has to keep up with this mindset and catch up in acceptance, because for these generations the metaverse is a no-brainer. When you observe how naturally they embrace the digital world, it's clear that these are the future drivers of the Metaverse. To appeal to them, it makes sense to focus on specific communities, products or experiences that they want to identify with. It's about translating our deepest human needs into the virtual space. For all of us, the Metaverse is still a long journey through this virtual parallel world that we can enter and leave at will at any time. But just as there are immersive digital worlds, there will increasingly be areas where the Metaverse and the real world merge seamlessly, spaces where you have all the benefits of the Metaverse, its creativity, connection, access to information and people. At the moment, the internet is still like an arrangement of different information stands that do not communicate with each other. The journey into the Metaverse will bring many benefits to the real world, creating a balance and interoperability that we simply don't have on our screens today. In short, the metaverse, for me, is about breaking down those barriers. The next generation internet will be a platform with robust economic structures, many entertainment options and true interoperability.

It sounds as if the metaverse would also be a good solution to bundle strengths and do things better - keyword sharing economy. How much power lies in the open source philosophy and is that actually realistic in the Metaverse?

Fortnite is the best example of this. For years, we have worked with partners to remove barriers that previously prevented cross-platform play and cross-progression. It was a milestone in our industry that Fortnite players, regardless of console or platform, can meet together in this game. We need to keep working on this steadily to remove the remaining hurdles as well. In a perfect world, the Metaverse offers limitless experiences and interactions. And that is exactly why no single company should dominate the Metaverse. It must be built by a gigantically large, diverse cross-section of people. Our solution to this is the creative mode in Fortnite, which is so important because it is an autonomous space designed by the player. We provide players and developers with tools specifically for this purpose, so that they can create their own experiences. The goal is to develop and publish such tools so that the community can develop, share and experience tailor-made ideas. These are the kinds of open and collaborative conditions that allow the Metaverse to evolve organically.


Open and collaborative could be a challenge for the fashion industry ...

At the moment, the industry is celebrating the power of collaborations. In the last 24 months, we have seen more of them than ever before. Completely new constellations are also emerging. Two years ago, none of us would have thought that possible. Thanks to Fortnite, DC and Marvel characters met in a game for the first time. These two IPs (Intellectual Properties) had never been seen together before. If we continue to open up these interactive spaces, everyone can come together - like on a gigantic mall. Because we notice that the individual IPs feel more and more comfortable with this step, and suddenly there is an awareness of how much power there is in working together across companies and also, as a brand, opening up a new perspective to your own community through this. Digital platforms are not a place to sell products, but to share a brand with others through a common experience. The goal of the Balenciaga project, for example, was to share a certain attitude, personality and aesthetics as a symbol of the brand. In the virtual space, the brand experience is more important than the product. A white T-shirt is of no use in the metaverse - after all, you can't get cold.

Epic Games | style in progress
"In the Metaverse, you're not selling products, you're selling an experience." For Sallyann Houghton, this is just one of the many reasons why it simply makes sense for gaming platforms and brands to work together.
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

Scroll To Top

Now Reading
Epic Games | „Digital Fashion ist die Fast Fashion der Zukunft“

Epic Games | „Digital Fashion ist die Fast Fashion der Zukunft“

Epic Games | style in progress

Sallyann Houghton verfolgt die Zusammenarbeit von Gaming-Plattformen mit der Modeindustrie live und aus der ersten Reihe. Als Ansprechpartnerin für Entertainment, Medien und Mode bei Epic Games erlebte sie, wie das Thema während der Pandemie zum Megahype avancierte. Mit Fortnite setzte Epic Games neue Standards. Es ist vor allem das Technik-Know-how, das Epic Games als digitales Asset in Händen hält und von dem viele Industrien profitieren können.

Interview: Stephan Huber. Text: Isabel Faiss. Fotos: Epic Games

Beginnen wir mit einem Kickstart: Wie würden Sie Epic Games in wenigen Sätzen erklären?

Das Stichwort Game ist im Firmennamen enthalten, doch eigentlich gibt es zwei Seiten bei Epic. Die eine dreht sich um Spiele, die andere nicht – und alle Grenzen verschwimmen gerade. Unreal Engine ist unsere Softwear, die alles ermöglicht, was wir bei Epic tun. Fortnite hat unsere Bekanntheit in- und außerhalb der traditionellen Gaming-Community enorm gesteigert. Für zahlreiche Industriezweige, mit denen wir inzwischen zusammenarbeiten, sind unsere Technologien die Basis. Wir investieren massiv in Unreal Tools und neue Inhalte, um Entwickler in den Bereichen Architektur, Medien, Unterhaltung, Automotive, Marketing und Simulation zu unterstützen. Wir wollen fantastische Beispiele präsentieren, wie Entwickler in diesen Branchen die Echtzeittechnologie nutzen können, und helfen ihnen dabei, zu verstehen, wie unsere Gaming-Technologie in virtuellen Ökosystemen eingesetzt werden kann und wo man am besten startet.

Die Pandemie zwang die Modeindustrie, ihr digitales Angebot auf eine neue Stufe der Technologie- und Marktreife zu bringen. Was hat sich dadurch geändert?

Die Branche nimmt neue Technologien wie nie zuvor an. In den letzten 24 Monaten ist mehr Umbruch passiert als in den letzten 100 Jahren. Das ist wie ein gigantisches Erwachen. Meiner Meinung nach zieht es die Mode jetzt zunehmend in virtuelle Räume, weil endlich die entsprechenden Angebote da sind, auf dem entsprechenden ästhetischen Level.

Überall sieht man, wie die Mode gerade die Gaming-Industrie für sich entdeckt. Aber ist es nicht auch andersherum? Wer profitiert hier mehr von wem?

Mode ist nur der Ausdruck der eigenen Identität und Kreativität. Gamer haben das schon immer für sich genutzt, auch ohne den Einfluss der Modeindustrie. Seit vielen Jahren ist es extrem en vogue, seine eigenen Charaktere und Erscheinungsbilder zu kreieren. Es ist ein sehr mächtiges Tool für Spieler, sich ihre eigene Identität zu schaffen und sie in ihrer Community auszuspielen. Die Modeindustrie eröffnet uns allen hier ein breiteres Feld an Möglichkeiten. Die Zeit ist reif, dass Gaming und Mode endlich zusammenkommen, weil Gaming-Plattformen viel breiter geworden sind und eine riesige Zahl von Menschen ansprechen. Gamer sind heute keine Teenager mehr, die in ihren Schlafzimmern zocken. Jeder ist doch ein Gamer. Das Durchschnittsalter liegt bei 33 bis 38 Jahren und es gibt Milliarden von ihnen da draußen.

Kürzlich sah ich eine Jeansjacke mit zwei Namen darauf: Fortnite und Balenciaga. Fortnite war deutlich prominenter aufgedruckt. Ein Sinnbild für das aktuelle Machtverhältnis?

Gaming war traditionell unbekanntes Terrain für die Mode. Keiner erkannte den strategischen Nutzen. Das hat sich inzwischen geändert. Gaming ist heute mehr als nur Spielen – es geht um das gemeinsame Erlebnis mit Freunden. Der Modeindustrie ist der Stellenwert virtueller Plattformen inzwischen sehr wohl bewusst und diese sind ihrerseits deutlich erwachsener geworden. Das tiefe Verständnis von Daten wird es der Mode ermöglichen, viel mehr über ihr Produkt zu wissen – noch bevor sie es überhaupt produziert haben.

In den letzten Jahren befand sich die Mode ein einer Sinnkrise. Es ging nur noch um Zahlen und Effizienz – nicht mehr um Spaß. Kann die Liaison mit der Gaming-Industrie den Spaß zurückbringen?

Seien wir ehrlich: Die meisten von uns hassen Einkaufen. Wir lieben es, Dinge zu finden und zu ergattern. Das Shoppen ist nur der nervige Weg zum Ziel – und das sind die Schätze, die man am Ende haben will. An dieser Stelle verliert der Handel meiner Meinung nach am meisten Kunden. Wenn man alle Hindernisse wie Gedränge, Anfahrt, Kälte und Unlust beiseite räumt und das Einkaufen als Erlebnis in einem Umfeld anbietet, das alle begeistert und in dem man völlig frei verschiedene Outfits anprobieren und sich kreativ austoben kann, dann kommt der Spaß zurück. Im echten Leben agieren wir viel kontrollierter. Wir entscheiden strategisch, was wir kaufen. In virtuellen Welten und vor allem im Metaverse haben wir grenzenlose Möglichkeiten. Zu jeder Zeit kann man seinen Stil komplett verändern und jedes Element seiner Persönlichkeit frei transformieren. Digital Fashion ist die Fast Fashion der Zukunft.


Im Virtuellen bestehen ja auch keine physischen Grenzen mehr – Stichwort Diversität. Können wir uns hier endgültig von Klischees lösen?

Das Metaverse ermöglicht die bedingungslose Selbstdarstellung. Jederzeit kann man alles oder jeder sein. Es erlaubt uns, physische Kategorien beiseitezuschieben. Die aktuelle Diskussion dreht sich vor allem darum, wie die Modeindustrie heute die digitalen Möglichkeiten nutzen kann. Das Spannende an der Situation ist aber doch, dass wir im Metaverse das System von Mode revolutionieren können, um beispielsweise Labels zu kreieren, die es in der realen Welt nie geben wird. Sie können völlig neu agieren – man kann Gesetzmäßigkeiten zu Materialien, Formen und Schnitten verwerfen.

Metaverse ist ein Gamechanger für die Mode. Aber auch virtuelle Mode ist eben Mode – nur auf einer anderen Ebene. Denn am Ende des Tages bleibt eines Fakt: Die Kunden müssen dein Produkt lieben. Wie begeistert man Gen Z im Metaverse?

Grundsätzlich hat Gen Z viel weniger Bedenken über den Switch in die digitale Welt als wir. Für sie hat es diese Dualität von real und virtuell schon immer gegeben. Es ist die Technologie, die mit diesem Mindset mithalten und in der Akzeptanz aufschließen muss, denn für diese Generationen ist das Metaverse ein No-Brainer. Wenn man beobachtet, wie selbstverständlich sie sich die digitale Welt zu eigen machen, ist es klar, dass das die zukünftigen Treiber des Metaverse sind. Um sie anzusprechen, macht es Sinn, sich auf spezielle Communitys zu fokussieren, auf Produkte oder Erlebnisse, mit denen sie sich identifizieren wollen. Es geht darum, unsere tiefsten menschlichen Bedürfnisse in den virtuellen Raum zu übersetzen. Für uns alle ist das Metaverse noch eine lange Reise durch diese virtuelle Parallelwelt, die wir nach Belieben jederzeit betreten und verlassen können. So, wie es immersive digitale Welten gibt, wird es aber auch zunehmend Bereiche geben, in denen das Metaverse und die reale Welt nahtlos ineinander übergehen, Räume, in denen man alle Vorteile des Metaverse, seine Kreativität, die Verbindung, den Zugang zu Informationen und Menschen hat. Momentan ist das Internet noch wie eine Anordnung unterschiedlicher Infostände, die nicht miteinander kommunizieren. Die Reise ins Metaverse wird viele Vorteile für die reale Welt mit sich bringen und eine Ausgewogenheit und Interoperabilität schaffen, die wir heute auf unseren Bildschirmen einfach nicht haben. Kurz gesagt, das Metaverse ist für mich die Überwindung dieser Barrieren. Die nächste Generation Internet wird eine Plattform mit robusten Wirtschaftsstrukturen, vielen Unterhaltungsmöglichkeiten und echter Interoperabilität sein.

Das klingt so, als wäre das Metaverse auch eine gute Lösung, um Stärken zu bündeln und Dinge besser zu machen – Stichwort Sharing Economy. Wie viel Kraft liegt in der Open-Source- Philosophie und ist das im Metaverse eigentlich realistisch?

Fortnite ist das beste Beispiel dafür. Seit Jahren arbeiten wir mit Partnern zusammen, um Barrieren zu beseitigen, die bisher das plattformübergreifende Spielen und die Cross-Progression verhindert haben. Es war ein Meilenstein in unserer Branche, dass sich Fortnite-Spieler, unabhängig von Konsole oder Plattform in diesem Spiel gemeinsam treffen können. Daran müssen wir stetig weiterarbeiten, um auch die verbleibenden Hürden zu beseitigen. In einer perfekten Welt bietet das Metaverse grenzenlose Erlebnisse und Interaktionen. Und genau deshalb darf auch kein einzelnes Unternehmen das Metaverse dominieren. Es muss von einem gigantisch großen, vielfältigen Querschnitt an Menschen aufgebaut werden. Unsere Lösung dafür ist der Kreativmodus in Fortnite, der so wichtig ist, weil er ein autonomer, vom Spieler selbst gestalteter Raum ist. Wir stellen Spielern und Entwicklern dafür eigens Tools zur Verfügung, mit denen sie ihre eigenen Erfahrungen machen sollen. Das Ziel ist es, solche Tools zu entwickeln und zu veröffentlichen, damit die Community maßgeschneiderte Ideen entwickeln, austauschen und erleben kann. Dies sind die Arten von offenen und kollaborativen Bedingungen, die es dem Metaverse ermöglichen, sich organisch weiterzuentwickeln.


Offen und kollaborativ könnte für die Modebranche eine Herausforderung darstellen …

Momentan feiert die Branche doch die Power von Kooperationen. In den letzten 24 Monaten haben wir davon so viele gesehen wie nie zuvor. Es entstehen auch völlig neue Konstellationen. Noch vor zwei Jahren hätte das keiner von uns für möglich gehalten. Dank Fortnite trafen erstmals DC- und Marvel-Charaktere in einem Spiel aufeinander. Diese beiden IPs (Intellectual Properties) hatte man zuvor noch nie zusammen gesehen. Wenn wir weiterhin diese interaktiven Räume öffnen, können alle zusammentreffen – wie auf einer gigantischen Flaniermeile. Denn wir merken, dass sich die einzelnen IPs mit diesem Schritt immer wohler fühlen, und plötzlich ist das Bewusstsein da, wie viel Macht darin steckt, firmenübergreifend zusammenzuarbeiten und auch als Marke der eigenen Community dadurch eine neue Perspektive zu eröffnen. Digitale Plattformen sind kein Ort, um Produkte zu verkaufen, sondern um eine Marke mit anderen über ein gemeinsames Erlebnis zu teilen. Das Ziel des Balenciaga-Projektes beispielsweise war es, eine gewisse Attitude, Persönlichkeit und Ästhetik zu teilen, als Versinnbildlichung der Marke. Im virtuellen Raum ist das Markenerlebnis wichtiger als das Produkt. Ein weißes T-Shirt hat im Metaverse nun mal keinen Nutzen – es kann einem schließlich nicht kalt werden.

Epic Games | style in progress
„Im Metaverse verkauft man keine Produkte, man verkauft ein Erlebnis.“ Für Sallyann Houghton ist das nur einer der vielen Gründe, warum es einfach Sinn macht, wenn Gaming-Plattformen und Marken zusammenarbeiten.
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

style in progress

Keine Artikel von style in progress verpassen: Dann folgen Sie uns auf LinkedIn! 

Scroll To Top